Whether or not you agree with them, it’s hard to avoid coverage of the protests that have been taking over the nation since the election of Donald Trump.

A common story circulating post-protest is usually the soft-hitting “best signs” (because as a media culture we can never live through an event without making it a competition).

These images allow the rest of the world to witness the messages of the people taking time out of their lives to stand in the cold and lose circulation in their arms, and hopefully inspire people of all political standings to attempt to understand.

The most impactful sign I’ve seen in my experiences as an amateur political activist read: “It’s not a march, it’s a marathon.”

Hmmmmmm. I’ve really been thinking about this for a while, and it’s brought up such an interesting point.

Anyone who knows American history is familiar with our love/hate relationship with protesting. We love that we have the right to do it, hate it when it’s not favorable to our political views.

Regardless of where you stand, it’s clear that protesting has become the action answer for those of us on Facebook and other social media who constantly share and re-share political views and articles. It’s a way of finally moving from behind the keyboard and into the streets–to feel real change and inspiration by thousands of others like you.

As someone who has always had an opinion but never been quite sure what to do about it, attending these events has been some of the most empowering moments in my life.

I’m not going to lie, I have to pack for my trip tomorrow and I’m really tired. I wish I could continue to tell you guys about this because I have a lot to say, but I’m tired. I swear I’m a better writer than this @new people in journalism.

Here are some photos of me and others doing things:

img_9401-jpg

 

Join the conversation! 4 Comments

  1. Who run the world? Girls. Go you! Great post

    Like

    Reply
  2. Regardless of your political opinions, standing up and peacefully fighting for what you believe in is ba, glad I can do it by your side

    Like

    Reply
  3. Really awesome to see people getting out there and exercising their right to assemble! Wish I saw you guys there!

    Like

    Reply
  4. It was so empowering to me too. Go you for being such a role model in our class and in the world 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized