September 9, 2016

Girl Power Camp

Even in the summer, my evil feminist agenda takes no vacations. To further spread my menacing ways, this August, I ran a camp for young girls to teach self-love, happiness, and healthy relationship habits.

The idea began at the end of last year. I was talking to Courtney Dunning about the patterns of insecurities that we have experienced, and they were almost identical. As soon as young girls hit 6th grade (the beginning stages of puberty), all of their confidence disappears, and general cattiness and timidness creeps in.

Having experienced this dip in self-confidence and going through the process of digging ourselves out, we decided to do something to prevent this in our community.

We designed a curriculum for what we titled “Girl Power Camp.” The main goal: encourage the infinite heights of girl power to as many 4-11 year-olds as we possibly could.

It happened.

We had two sessions available, 10 girls in each. I spent the night before the first day of camp sitting in my room and worrying about everything that could go wrong. What if they hate it? What if they don’t want to listen to anything we have to say? 

The next morning while I was eating my toast, I decided that if I wasn’t confident, I had no place telling these girls to be. So, from that moment on, I was 100% sure in the magic of

img_7103

The craft table for “Friendship Day” The flower pots represented the idea that if you take care of a friendship, just like a flower, it will grow (awwwww)

camp.

The themes of the four days were: friendship, confidence, happiness, and love. Every day’s lesson built off of the previous one, and every craft related to the theme of the day.

The days came and went like a blur of screaming, laughing, ink-stained fingers, and dancing. The participation and progress of the girls was extraordinary–better than I ever imagined.

One specific story I would like to share is about two sisters that were in the first session we did. They just moved into the house across the street from mine, and they didn’t know any of the girls in the neighborhood.

The first day, they were quiet and visibly out of their comfort zones to talk about such personal things with total strangers. By the end of the week, they were singing and dancing in front of everyone about the things that make them feel confident.

That was awesome.

The highlight of all of camp, however, was probably “Hi, my name is Jill.”

What is that?

Well, “Hi, my name is Jill” is a silly repeat-after-me song that goes:

Hi, my name is Jill, and I work at the butter factory 

the other day (the other day) my mom said Jill (my mom said Jill) 

“Are you busy?” and I said no 

Churn the butter with your (then insert random body part to shake) 

So, on the first day and last day, we did this chant with the girls…but I would dress up in a really crazy outfit from head-to-toe and tell everyone that I was Jill. They all were so genuinely confused, and they really believed that I was a separate, mysterious person that showed up to their camp named Jill.

It was hilarious. By the end of the week, though, most of the 8-year-olds caught on.

Anyways, the entire camp was a total success. It made me so excited for the younger generation of girls, and super pumped to be an empowered female.

Look out for sign-ups for next year! #gowarriors #girlpower

Join the conversation! 5 Comments

  1. Love love love this!! What a great way to empower our young women.

    Like

    Reply
  2. This is so cool! The descriptions were well written and attention grabbing! And I’m glad the girls had fun too 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. This camp sounds very cool. It makes me wish I was an 8 year old girl so I could go.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Great post. What a good way to spend your time and energy…giving back. Lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  5. This is a great idea! Can we have a high school sect too?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized