…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Gotcha! You’ve made it this far so you might as well stick around, because I am going to briefly discuss (my) Feminism. #feministtalkstofans

Heck yea (mtv.com)

Heck yea (mtv.com)

If you are one of those people who wouldn’t of clicked on this post if I had named it “Feminism,” you, more than anyone else, should stay tuned.

First things first: I don’t hate men! I also don’t think all men are evil animals. I actually like a large amount of men!

However, there are definitely some men that I don’t tend to agree with as a Feminist. I don’t agree with men that are intimidated by strong females and try to cut them down. I also don’t find men who believe that women don’t deserve the same rights and opportunities that men do acceptable in any way. Most of all, I am not fond of men who discriminate and disrespect women on only the basis of their gender.

If you are ever confused on whether or not Feminist means “male-hater,” riddle me this: After reading that last paragraph, if you thought “not all guys are like that,” the explanation is very simple. If all guys aren’t like that and basic Feminism is against those specific values, it is statistically impossible for a solid Feminist to hate all men.

Moving forward, my Warpath article on the meninist Twitter account and regular public discussions about my views on gender equality has earned me a very Feminist reputation at our school.

There are a lot of students here that agree and have really heated rants about it with me; there are also students who respectfully disagree. However, there is also an existing group of students who not only treat this reputation as something they can make fun of but actually not “like” me because of it.

I am still trying to understand why Feminism makes someone unlikeable or the punch line of a joke. In my beliefs, Feminism should simply be something that everyone has in them-male and female. Wanting equal rights and opportunities for females is not a radical personality trait, it’s common sense.

Now, a common misconception some of you might have is that Feminists are just teenage girls worshiping Beyoncé and ‘overreacting’ to sexists remarks. While Beyoncé is a female powerhouse and role mode and Feminists absolutely won’t stand for any dumb high school guy making sexist comments, that is not all that I believe in.

My personal role model is Malala Yousafzai. In many parts of the Middle East, including her home in Swat Valley, Pakistan females are banned from attending school. Yousafzai is a Pakistani activist for female education and has become the youngest ever Nobel Prize malala-yousafzai-1-mainlaureate. Her fight for female education is inspiring to me and empowers my stance as a firm believer in equal rights and opportunities for women all over the world.

That is all I have to say about Feminism for now, but I will leave you with a quote. “Who run the world? Girls! [x4]Who run this motha? Girls! [x4] Who run the world? Girls! [x4].”

-Your local big, bad, and spooky Feminist

Join the conversation! 5 Comments

  1. Can you please be President

    Like

    Reply
  2. You go girl. Don’t let men steal your wind.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Maddy, this right here is why we are friends 😉 You’re the best and don’t ever let the haters get you down!

    Like

    Reply
  4. More people need to read this because I know so many people that are anti-feminist not because they are sexist but because they are ignorant of what feminism truly is. Thank you for this article.

    Like

    Reply
  5. wow nice blog post i like it

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Category

Uncategorized